Oh My Goodness This is Actually Happening!!!

We’re going!!! Like really, we leave in 5 days!!! 2 years of planning and we’re finally this close!!! (I promise there won’t be this many exclamation points the whole time…maybe. They always come in 3’s, right?)

Just as a reminder, I’m (Brie here) heading to an internship in the Department of Food Safety and Zoonoses at the World Health Organization and Chase will be working on research related to his chemistry PhD at the University of Geneva (Switzerland!). My internship will count as my practicuum and capstone, and will complete my Masters of Public Health (MPH). His research has something to do with little liquid bubbles on paper and other cool stuff, but that’s about as close as I can get, so I’ll let him explain it later. We leave May 30th and will be back on August 3rd. After we get back, I’ll have 2 more years of veterinary school and Chase will be writing his dissertation. Maybe someday we’ll have actual jobs…

Next week, we’re flying to Zurich with Alia, my college roommate, and her SO, Clyde/CM. Lucky for us, Alia is Swiss and will be showing us around for a couple of days. I’m so excited to finally meet her family and see Basel (where she grew up). Yay!!! After spending a few days in Basel, we’ll head down to Geneva on June 3rd or so to move into our apartment and get a feel for Geneva before out internships start on the 6th. Another fun fact: Brooke and TK are coming to stay with us on the 6th!! But really they’re mostly coming so that we can mooch off of Brooke’s French knowledge while we’re still finding our way around. 😛

For now, I guess we should focus on packing and all of that crap. Turns out there’s a lot to think about when you’re packing for two months of business attire + casual clothes + mountain temperatures + life in general, etc. Something tells me we’ll forget a bunch of stuff even with the packing lists we’ve already made.

Here’s a picture I stole from our airbnb host’s site. This will be the view from our little studio apartment in Gaillard, France! It’s about an hour long train ride or 15-20 min by car from the WHO and University. Carla, our host, has been so helpful in answering all of our questions and we’re looking forward to having her show us around the area. Eep!!!

7D38DAC8-B4B6-4A4B-A694-F4FD7CF57E38-833-000000F19057C729

P.S.- Did I mention how excited I am?!?!?! AHHHH!!! Just running away from vet school and the infuriating/terrifying political situation in this country will be therapy enough for a while and totally worth all of the planning that has gone into this trip. WOOHOO!!!

 

-Brie

Leave a Reply

